Summer Reading List for Young Readers

View this email in your browser


Summer Poetry Reading List for Young Readers


This summer, we encourage you to check out these poetry titles for children, YA novels in verse, and books by poets for young readers to help bring more poetry into the classroom or home. Poems can spark a lifelong love of reading, and buying poetry books is one of the best ways to directly support poets and poetry.
 

Amber and Clay 
by Laura Amy Schlitz, illustrated by 
Julia Iredale
Candlewick Press
March 2021
Hardcover, $22.99

Newbery Medal–winning author Laura Amy Schlitz gives readers a virtuoso performance in verse in Amber and Clay, a profoundly original epic pitched just right for fans of poetry, history, mythology, and fantasy.


Hard-Boiled Bugs for Breakfast
by Jack Prelutsky, illustrated by
Ruth Chan
Greenwillow Books
January 2021 
Hardcover, $18.99

A new collection from the celebrated first Young People’s Poet Laureate and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky, featuring more than one hundred original poems guaranteed to make readers laugh, imagine, write, and dream!


The One Thing You’d Save
by Linda Sue Park, illustrated by
Robert Sae-Heng
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
March 2021
Hardcover, $16.99

If your house were on fire, what one thing would you save? Newbery Medalist Linda Sue Park explores answers to this provocative question in poems that capture the diverse voices of a middle school class.

Rebound
by Kwame Alexander
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
May 2021
Paperback & e-Book, $9.99

In this dynamic prequel to The Crossover, Chuck Bell takes center stage as we get a glimpse of his childhood and how he became the jazz music worshiping, basketball star his sons look up to.



Papa’s Free Day Party
by Marilyn Nelson, illustrated by 
Wayne Anthony Still
Just Us Books
April 2021
Hardcover, $17.95

How do you celebrate your birthday when you don’t know when it is? Have a Free Day party! From award-winning poet Marilyn Nelson and based on her grandfather’s amazing life, an inspiring story about freedom and the power of family.

Beyond: Discoveries from the Outer Reaches of Space
by Miranda Paul, illustrated by Sija Hong
Lerner Books
April 2021
Hardcover & e-Book, $19.99

Venture far beyond our solar system and discover the marvels of interstellar space. This wonder-filled poem explores cosmic phenomena ranging from dwarf planets and black holes to dark matter and brand-new stars.


The Shape of Home
by Rashin Kheiriyeh
Levine Querido
August 2021 
Hardcover, $17.99

True to her signature vibrant and ebullient style, award-winning author and illustrator, Rashin Khieriyeh shares the story about her first day of school in a new country and discovering the true shape of home.


Home is Not a Country 
by Safia Elhillo
Make Me a World (an imprint of Random House Children's Books)
March 2021
Hardcover, $17.99

A mesmerizing novel in verse about family, identity, and finding yourself in the most unexpected places—for fans of The Poet XI Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, and Jason Reynolds.


A Hatful of Dragons
by Vikram Madan
Wordsong
March 2020 
Hardcover, $17.99

Ideal for fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein, this collection of hilarious poems is perfect for any young reader who likes to read — and laugh!





This Poem is a Nest
by Irene Latham, illustrated by
Johanna Wright
Wordsong
September 2020
Hardcover, $17.99

What can you find in a poem about a robin’s nest? Irene Latham masterfully discovers “nestlings” or smaller poems about an astonishing variety of subjects–emotions, wild animals, natural landmarks on all seven continents, even planets and constellations. 

Twitter
Facebook
Website
Copyright © 2021 The Academy of American Poets, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you opted in via our website.

Our mailing address is:
The Academy of American Poets
75 Maiden Lane
St #901
New York, NY 10038

Add us to your address book


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Older messages

"Interrogation of an Alternate Timeline" by Hazem Fahmy

Thursday, June 10, 2021

On a dusty rooftop in Giza, I tell Imam, Facebook Twitter Instagram Support Poem-a-Day June 10, 2021 Interrogation of an Alternate Timeline Hazem Fahmy On a dusty rooftop in Giza, I tell Imam, in

"Pastoral" by Hanae Jonas

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

I watched my old life go by like television. Facebook Twitter Instagram Support Poem-a-Day June 9, 2021 Pastoral Hanae Jonas I watched my old life go by like television. Slopes of grass whipping

The Academy of American Poets Awards $1.1 Million to twenty-three Poets Laureate

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Support Poets.org June 8, 2021 The Academy of American Poets Awards $1.1 Million to twenty-three Poets Laureate Across the Country The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce its 2021 Poets

"I Don't Say Goodbye, I Only Say Ciao—" by Gabrielle Octavia Rucker

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

What bloody lense holds firm between this mystery & us? Facebook Twitter Instagram Support Poem-a-Day June 8, 2021 I Don't Say Goodbye, I Only Say Ciao Gabrielle Octavia Rucker What bloody

CORRECTED DATE: Join Us Tomorrow, June 8, for the Launch of 'Worldly Things' by Michael Kleber-Diggs

Monday, June 7, 2021

The Max Ritvo Poetry Prize Presents: The Launch of Worldly Things by Michael Kleber-Diggs, the Winner of the 2021 Max Ritvo Poetry Prize Don't miss the inaugural event of the Max Ritvo Poetry Prize

Meghan Markle Swears By This $7 Mascara For Incredibly Long Lashes

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Beauty products fit for royalty — both Hollywood and actual. ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ TZR logo The Zoe Report 06.14.21 Meghan Markle Swears By This $7 Mascara For Incredibly Long Lashes (

142 / The upward creep of material desire

Monday, June 14, 2021

Joy is an inside job. – Lorraine Weiss Featured artist: Lolita Calistru Dense Discovery Dense Discovery Welcome to Issue 142! View/share online → As many of you know, I love thinking and talking about

35 Essential Summer Blockbusters From the Past 20 Years

Monday, June 14, 2021

Remember when an air-conditioned theater was the perfect refuge from the blazing heat?... ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ Do everything better Monday, June 14, 2021 Streaming 35 Essential

Hidden Costco Membership Benefits You're Missing Out On

Monday, June 14, 2021

Hidden Costco Membership Benefits Get the Magazine Real Simple Daily Recipe Hidden Costco Membership Benefits You're Missing Out On Read More Shrimp Lemongrass Skewers Read More Lemongrass Tartar

7 "Shortcut" Foods You Should Avoid At All Costs

Monday, June 14, 2021

7 Foods You Should Never Eat Get Allrecipes Magazine View in Browser 7 Pre-Made "Shortcut" Foods You Should Avoid At All Costs REAL SIMPLE Unfortunately, some kitchen "shortcuts"

Welcome to 'The Church of Ziwe'

Monday, June 14, 2021

What's new today on the Cut — covering style, self, culture, and power, plus interviews, profiles, columns, and commentary from our editors. Brand Logo MONDAY, JUNE 14 Q&A Welcome to 'The

Amazon’s Newest Must-Shop Storefront

Monday, June 14, 2021

Amazon's Cottagecore Storefront Get the Magazine Real Simple Home The Newest Amazon Storefront Features the Interior Design Style All Over Social Media See More » This Living Room Proves Statement

We’re Stocking Up On H&M’s New Summer Drop

Monday, June 14, 2021

From maxi dresses to mix-and-match swimwear. ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ TZR logo The Zoe Report 06.14.21 Versatility Is Core To H&M's New Summer Collection (Presented by H&M)

Bacon Potato-Chip Chocolate Cookies

Monday, June 14, 2021

Bacon Potato-Chip Chocolate Cookies Bacon Potato-Chip Chocolate Cookies Father's Day Desserts Bacon Potato-Chip Chocolate Cookies 22 Father's Day Desserts 25 Father's Day Cake Recipes

29 Father’s Day Gifts Your Dad Will Truly Appreciate

Monday, June 14, 2021

Perfect Father's Day Gifts Get the Magazine Real Simple Daily Finds 29 Father's Day Gifts Your Dad Will Truly Appreciate Read More » The Ultimate Year-by-Year Anniversary Gift Guide Read More »