Issue#98: Building $1K-$10K MRR Micro SaaS Products around Marketing Automation
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Are you an Agency??Works with Agencies too!! You can signup Flezr and build Data-driven Dynamic websites to your customers. No fluffy content. If your goal is to build a $100m ARR business, this is not the right post. Here I am NOT going to talk about building the next Facebook or Twitter. If your goal is to make a $1K to $10K MRR, continue reading. This post will cover one SaaS area and talk about multiple niches in this space. This post also explains how to do tech implementation, do market analysis, how the current players are doing, and ends with a cost analysis to understand the overall cost for 100 users. Let’s see some of the players around Micro SaaS products around Marketing Automation. ⛳ ⛳ Current players
[Note that some of the products also has a sales layer on top of marketing to help improve sales. Also some of the products are more into sales ecosystem with marketing add-ons.]
🙅♀️🙅 PessimistsNegative Nancy says - “Founders can hire people for marketing” Me - Hiring for marketing is possible but not a scalable solution. You can certainly hire someone to send 1000 cold emails but imagine doing the same for sending 1Millions emails. Founders are looking for out-of-the-box solutions and automations to improve their marketing. Negative Nancy says - “Marketing is not the only way. Founder can simply try direct sales.” Me - Agreed. Founders either need marketing or sales to make money from their products. There are millions of products making money from marketing and that’s still a huge market. 🤿🤿 Deep-dive && 💡💡 Some nichesFrom $4,438.7 million in 2020, the global marketing automation market size is projected to reach $14,180.6 million in 2030, at a 12.3% CAGR between 2020 and 2030. The major reasons for the rising demand for these solutions are the growing practice of digital marketing and rising number of people using social media. Moreover, small and medium enterprises (SMEs) are adopting these solutions to achieve marketing efficiency and cut costs. This is as per the ResearchAndMarkets report. AI-Powered Tool to Automate Content Repurposing:Create Video/Audio Content Repurposing Tools tools primarily meant for audio and video creators. The tool should be able to cater to various publishing platforms like TikTok, Youtube, Twitch, and Live Streaming platforms. Publishing to video platforms often involves a few requirements like adding subtitles, removing a few filler words, trimming the video, adding logos, watermarks, etc. Create a content repurposing tool that automates most of this and automatically distributes to various video and audio platforms via platform APIs for those content platforms. While publishing to various audio and video platforms is half of the game, getting the video stats, data of comments, and likes/dislikes into a neat dashboard will make it much easy to decide on what platforms the content publishing is working on. Create a Micro SaaS solution around these problems and automate most of these flows. See Repurpose for inspiration. You can also build tools for converting a simple audio(podcast) to a subtitled video with background pictures based on pre-configured settings. Or you can build tools that help convert a podcast or a full length videos into short clips to post on Tiktok, Instagram, Youtube etc. Adding AI layer to these tools help build better content for founders. Below are some players in this space building various solutions to different types of content.
Referral Program Automation:There are various solutions you can build in this space. Pre-launch waitlist Automation Referral System: This is gaining a lot of attention these days. Implement a micro saas solution that handles the waitlist activity for new saas companies. Most saas companies want to create a multiplier effect by asking to subscribe to get early access and keeps users on the waitlist. As the user shares the invite to more people, his/her waitlist number improves. For example, if a user signs up for early access and is on a waitlist queue with 400 people before him/her. This will act as a token number while waiting in line for access. If the user shares his/her unique invite link and lets more people join from his invite link, the user gets moved up in the queue from 400 to 200. Building a simple micro saas around this functionality can bring in a lot of attention as this creates a viral effect. See Waitlist API for inspiration. Referral Programs with automated payments: Create a referral program software (as a micro-saas) that pays the referrers. The direct monetary benefit is more attractive. Have a system like Paypal or Stripe to make money transfers. For example, if there is a saas that charges a customer about $150/m, that would be $1800/year. Assuming each customer stays 2 years, the LTV(lifetime value) of each new paid user would be $3000 - USD 4K. In these cases, some B2B companies would like to pay monetary benefits, and having an automated payment system based on a referral system is a clear winner. This model is close to an Affiliate system model. Headless API based referral software: ‘Headless’ has been a common term these days. Build a Headless API based referral software system that just provides a set of APIs and handles data for customers. There will be no UI or dashboards but it's all APIs. For example, a B2B customer already having a lot of codebases, and an existing legacy system can just integrate a referral system by calling the APIs provided. You will need to provide an API pretty much for everything. For example, below are some APIs that can be provided to the customers. Make sure each customer has his/her API access keys (like an API key+ secret key) and customers should be able to call the APIs for any action needed in the referral pipeline.
Using these APIs customers should be able to integrate a referral system into their existing saas.
Content Curation Automation Tool for Social Media MarketingGrowing social media followers is not easy. It typically needs daily content to be posted that closely resonates with the followers. Often it is tough to get this kind of high-quality content to share. As a result of the need for content to post daily, many marketers will outsource the task to a digital marketing agency or freelancer. However, they often find that they are not getting the results they expected. They begin to wonder if it is worth the expense of social media management services. This is the exact problem Quuu was solving by finding relevant content to be available for companies so that they can share the same with their audience. Note that Quuu doesn’t write the content. Quuu only curates the content from the internet and shares that with companies based on pre-configured topics companies are interested in. Quuu crossed $61K MRR with about 10000 customers. You can further niche down this model to generate/curate content for specific industries and segments like ‘tech content for Developers’, ‘ Sales content for sales team’, ‘Real estate content for realtors’, etc. By further niching down, you can produce better content and charge more. Create a Micro SaaS that automates this for companies based on pre-configures topics. The tool should be able to search the internet, crawl websites, tag the topics, and then be able to filter the content based on companies’ interests and send curated/filtered links to companies via a login dashboard. As an add-on, provide further integrations to automatically publish these to companies’ social media channels with some approval mechanism in place. The approval mechanism is required so that companies get a chance to not accidentally publish competitor content, embarrassing content, etc. The tool should also have enough checks in place to not send the same content multiple times to the same company as this could negatively impact the followers to see the same content being shared multiple times. Micro-SaaS for Monitoring Keywords/Brand MentionsSimple keyword monitoring Micro SaaS products that monitors most happening websites like Hackernews, Indiehackers, Lobsters, Reddit, Twitter helps users to market their products better at the right time at the right place. The SaaS tool should be able to notify the users via email as and when a discussion happens about a specific topic that was chosen by the customer. A good add-on would be to integrate the notification system with Slack, Telegram, etc. Most users would love to be notified on Slack or Telegram. Keyword monitoring solution gets more users only when the tools monitor more places. So, add as many platforms as you can monitor. For inspiration see Syften and PMAlerts. There is a big problem with the mentions or keyword monitoring. The results are often purely based on the “keyword” text and could sometimes be of no use. For monitoring the Brand names, a simple keyword monitoring tool may work. But for a founder who is looking at certain keywords, receiving a false positive that is not in context of the founder’s saas product. For example, a founder building something related to “Airtable” wouldn’t be interested in questions in Reddit that is directed towards Airtable pricing questions. So, if you could add some kind of intelligence and rank the mention on a scale of 5 that fits the context for the founder, that would be a killer feature. To start with you can start doing this manually as well. (Ever heard of something like - “Doing things that don’t scale”).
Micro-SaaS for Affiliate Management:Affiliate management can significantly bolster marketing efforts by expanding a company's reach and driving more qualified traffic to its products or services. Through an affiliate program, businesses can partner with influencers, bloggers, and other affiliates who promote their offerings to their own audiences. This approach leverages the affiliates' established credibility and audience trust, resulting in increased brand visibility and credibility. Additionally, affiliates are motivated by commissions or incentives, driving them to actively market the products, thus boosting sales and revenue. Affiliate marketing also allows for a cost-effective marketing strategy, as businesses only pay commissions for actual sales generated by affiliates. But running an Affiliate program needs a lot of work behind the scenes to generate unique URLs for Affiliates, track sales, generate reports. Running an affiliate program manually is tough because it requires extensive time and effort to track and manage affiliate activities, commissions, and payouts. Micro SaaS solutions like Tolt, Rewardful are some of the prominent solutions in this space and automates the flow to a large extent. Rewardful reached $191K in annual revenue. 🔒 👉 [Get access to 1000+ additional ideas and more additional ideas in this niche and across all niches from Pro version with data points, revenue information].💻 💻 Technical chops Learn technical pointers on how to build products around this niche. 👉 🔒[Pro access] 📢 📢 Marketing chops Learn Marketing pointers on how to start marketing the products for this niche. This should give you a marketing head start. 👉 🔒[Pro access] 💳 💳 Cost Analysis for 100 customers Learn how much it costs to build a product in this niche and cater to 100 customers. 👉 🔒[Pro access] Pro VersionSee all profitable players in this Micro SaaS niche (Pro version)See another 100% ideas for Micro-SaaS tools around Marketing Automation(Pro version)See Technical chops for implementing for Micro-SaaS tools around Marketing Automation(Pro version)See Marketing chops for implementing for Micro-SaaS tools around Marketing Automation(Pro version)See Cost analysis for 100 users (Pro version)Also get 95+ SaaS niches Pro versions covering 1000+ ideas from Pro news letters |
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